



17 January 2007 No. 4

SECURITY COUNCIL SUBSIDIARY BODIES

The Security Council has finalised the appointments of its 2007 chairpersons to Council committees, sanctions committees, working groups, and the Council members of the Peacebuilding Commission.

Committee	Relevant Resolution	2007 Chairperson	2006 Chairperson
Counter-Terrorism	S/RES/1373 (2001)	HE Ricardo Alberto Arias (Panama) Vice Chairs: Peru, Qatar & South Africa	HE Ellen Margrethe Løj (Denmark)
Terrorism/Weapons of Mass Destruction	S/RES/1540 (2004)	HE Peter Burian (Slovakia)	HE Peter Burian (Slovakia)
		Vice Chairs: Ghana, Indonesia, United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland	
Sanctions Committee	Relevant Resolution	2007 Chairperson	2006 Chairperson
Somalia	S/RES/751 (1992)	HE Dumisani Kumalo (South Africa)	HE Nassir Abdulaziz Al-Nasser (Qatar)
		Vice Chairs: Ghana & Slovakia	

Rwanda	S/RES/918 (1994)	HE Rezlan Ishar Jenie (Indonesia) HE R.M. Marty M. Natalegawa (Indonesia) (29 October—31 December) Vice Chair: Italy	HE César Mayoral (Argentina)
Sierra Leone	S/RES/1132 (1997)	HE Nassir Abdulaziz Al-Nasser (Qatar)	HE Augustine Mahiga (Tanzania)
		Vice Chairs: Congo & Panama	
Al-Qaida / Taliban	S/RES/1267 (1999)	HE Johan C. Verbeke (Belgium) Vice Chairs: Ghana & Russian Federation	HE César Mayoral (Argentina)
Iraq	S/RES/1518 (2003)	HE Nana Effah-Apenteng (Ghana) Vice Chair: Belgium	HE Nana Effah-Apenteng (Ghana)
Liberia	S/RES/1521 (2003)	HE Nassir Abdulaziz Al-Nasser (Qatar) Vice Chairs: Indonesia & South Africa	HE Ellen Margrethe Løj (Denmark)
Democratic Republic of Congo	S/RES/1533 (2004)	HE Jorge Pablo Voto-Bernales (Peru)	HE Oswaldo de Rivero (Peru)
		Vice Chairs: Indonesia & Qatar	
Côte d'Ivoire	S/RES/1572 (2004)	HE Johan C. Verbeke (Belgium) Vice Chairs: Italy & South Africa	HE Adamantios Vassilakis (Greece)
Sudan / Darfur	S/RES/1591 (2005)	HE Marcello Spatafora (Italy) Vice Chairs:	HE Adamantios Vassilakis (Greece)

		Panama & Slovakia	
Lebanon	S/RES/1636 (2005)	HE Nana Effah-Apenteng (Ghana)	HE Kenzo Oshima (Japan)
		Vice Chairs: Belgium & Slovakia	
North Korea	S/RES/1718 (2006)	HE Marcello Spatafora (Italy) Vice Chairs:	HE Peter Burian (Slovakia)
		Ghana & Peru	
Iran	S/RES/1737 (2006)	HE Johan C. Verbeke (Belgium)	N/A
		Vice Chairs: Ghana & Peru	
Working Group	Relevant Document	2007 Chairperson	2006 Chairperson
General Issues related to Sanctions	S/2000/319	N/A, resolution 1732 (2006) terminated this Group's mandate	HE Adamantios Vassilakis (Greece)
Peacekeeping	S/PRST/2001/3	HE Rezlan Ishar Jenie (Indonesia) HE R.M. Marty M. Natalegawa (Indonesia) (29 October—31 December)	HE Kenzo Oshima (Japan)
Conflict Prevention & Resolution in Africa	S/2002/207	HE Basile Ikouebe (Congo)	HE Basile Ikouebe (Congo)
Additional measures on Terrorism	S/RES/1566 (2004)	HE Jorge Pablo Voto-Bernales (Peru)	HE Oswaldo de Rivero (Peru)
Children and Armed Conflict	S/RES/1612 (2005)	HE Jean-Marc de La Sablière (France)	HE Jean-Marc de La Sablière (France)
Working Methods & Documentation	S/2006/66	HE Peter Burian (Slovakia)	HE Kenzo Oshima (Japan)
Mandate Review	S/2006/354	HE Peter Burian (Slovakia) HE Dumisani Kumalo (South Africa)	HE Peter Burian (Slovakia) HE John Bolton (USA)
Peacebuilding Commission	Relevant Document	2007 Members	2006 Members
	S/RES/1646 S/2007/16	HE Ricardo Alberto Arias (Panama) HE Dumisani Kumalo (South Africa)	HE Ellen Margrethe Løj (Denmark) HE Augustine Mahiga (Tanzania)